In 2022 the Ellis Island Honors Society awarded Michael Neidorff the Ellis Island Medal of Honor. The Medal is presented annually to those who have shown an outstanding commitment to serving our nation either professionally, culturally or civically. Other 2022 recipients include former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, former Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and former U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke.